What is the Full Form of ICAO?


International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) headquarters is located in the Quartier International of Montreal, Quebec, Canada. ICAO full form is International Civil Aviation Organization. It is funded and directed by 193 national governments to support their diplomacy and cooperation in air transport as signatory states to the Chicago Convention (1944). Air Navigation Commission (ANC) is the scientific body within ICAO. Approved by the commission, rules are sent to the council, the political body of ICAO, for discussion and coordination with the member states before final permission.

The requirements ICAO standards include never supersede the importance of national regulatory requirements. It is always the local, federal regulations enforced in and by sovereign states, which must be legally adhered to by air operators using applicable airspace and airports.

History of ICAO

ICAO held the International Commission for Air Navigation (ICAN). It had its first conference in 1903 in Berlin, Germany, but no settlements were reached among the eight countries that attended. At the following convention in 1906, also held in Berlin, twenty-seven countries followed. The part conference, held in London in 1912, allocated the first radio callsigns for use by aircraft. ICAN continued to work until 1945.

ICAO Overview

Here in this section, we are providing a short overview of ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization). Let’s have a look.

ICAOInternational Civil Aviation Organization
HeadquartersMontreal, Canada
Parent organizationECOSOC
TypeUN specialized agency

ICAO is responsible for:

  • Safety
  • Registration
  • Airworthiness
  • Prevention of economic waste
  • Fair competition
  • Standardisation
  • Aviation Law

Frequently Asked Question (FAQ)

Q. What is the full form of ICAO?

A. The full form of the ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization.

Q. Where is the headquarters of ICAO located?

A. Montreal, Canada

Q. Which countries are not in ICAO?

A. The only non-Contracting States are the Holy See and Liechtenstein.

Q. Who is the first president of ICAO?

A. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu


Leave a comment